• Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program


    The Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program was named after two members of the ACFE, Larry Jennings, CFE, CPA, 49; and Tracy Ritchie, CFE, CPA, 41; both of Houston, Texas. They were among five people fatally wounded when terrorists in Karachi, Pakistan fired upon their vehicle on Nov. 14, 1997. All five were employees of Houston-based Union Texas Petroleum Holdings Inc. Mr. Ritchie served as senior audit supervisor and Mr. Jennings served as audit manager for the company. They were en route to Union Texas' Karachi office.

    Surviving spouses Jacqueline Ritchie and Deborah Jennings are proud that their husbands' names are associated with the program, which was established in 1992. "I can't think of a more appropriate way to honor Larry and Tracy," said Mrs. Jennings.

    "I'm very pleased that the program is named in their honor," said Mrs. Ritchie. "It's very fitting. My husband enjoyed being part of the Association. This is a wonderful cause," she said.

    Mrs. Ritchie and Mrs. Jennings have raised funds for the program and ACFE members help underwrite the scholarship fund with their donations.

    "Both men exemplified the true spirit of our organization with their devotion to detecting, investigating and deterring fraud and white-collar crime," said Dr. Joseph T. Wells, CFE, CPA, Chairman and founder of the ACFE.

    Tracy Ritchie
    Tracy Ritchie
    Larry Jennings
    Larry Jennings


    Through the Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship, the ACFE Foundation supports the education of students who have an interest in pursuing a career in fraud examination. The scholarship provides an opportunity for students to advance their education and anti-fraud career paths. Many of these outstanding and deserving students go on to become Certified Fraud Examiners.

    The Ritchie-Jennings Memorial scholarship award amounts are $10,000, $5,000, $2,500, and $1,000. Scholarships are awarded in U.S. dollars and include a one-year ACFE Student Associate membership. Awards will be paid directly to the award recipient’s university.

    2022-2023 Scholarship Schedule:

    2022-2023 Application period - CLOSED

    Application Deadline - Completed online by February 4, 2022

    Scholarship Award Recipients Announced - April 20, 2022

    Scholarship Awards Distributed - May 2, 2022

    Eligibility Criteria

    Scholarship applicants must currently be enrolled full-time and similarly enrolled during the 2022-2023 academic year at an accredited, four-year college or university. Applicants must have a declared major or minor in accounting, business administration, finance or criminal justice and demonstrate a desire to pursue a career in fraud examination or similar anti-fraud profession.

    Applicants must meet the following requirements in order to be eligible:

    Undergraduate students must be enrolled in 9 semester hours (or equivalent) per term and be at least in the second half of their sophomore year when they apply

    Graduate students must be enrolled in 6 semester hours (or equivalent) per term

    Be currently enrolled at an accredited, four-year college or university with enrollment through the 2022-2023 academic year

    Submit a Completed Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship application

    Provide Official Transcript(s) showing all completed college or university courses

    Two recommendation forms must be submitted on behalf of the applicant*

    *At least one form is preferred to be from a Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE) or a professor. Students are encouraged to meet with a Local ACFE Chapter to become acquainted with a CFE. Additional recommendation forms should be requested from an individual who may be familiar with your fraud-related education, interests, goals, and anti-fraud career path such as an employer or professor.

    During the application process, you will provide information on two recommenders. These individuals will receive a link to upload their individual recommendation forms on your behalf.

    The following persons are not eligible to apply:

    Past scholarship award recipients

    High school students (including seniors)

    Junior college or community college students

    College or university students graduating in 2022 (students must be enrolled through 2023)

    ACFE Chapter directors or officers

    Scholarship FAQs

    Selection and Non-discrimination Policy

    Scholarships are awarded annually on the basis of:

    Completed scholarship application

    Recommendation Forms

    Fraud-related interests, activities, goals and desired career path.

    Overall academic achievement demonstrated by transcripts

    The ACFE Foundation does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, national origin, age, gender, disability or sexual orientation in any of its programs or activities.

    Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Award Winners

    Congratulations to the 2021-2022 Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship recipients. In addition to the scholarship award, each recipient has received a one-year ACFE Student Membership.

    Make a Donation Today
    Please help to support the program by mailing your contribution payable to the ACFE Foundation. Contributions and questions should be addressed to:

    Attn: Scholarship Program Coordinator
    Global Headquarters - The Gregor Building
    716 West Avenue
    Austin, TX 78701 USA
    (800) 245-3321 (U.S. & Canada only)
    Phone: +1 (512) 478-9000
    Fax: +1 (512) 478-9297
    Email: Scholarships@ACFE.com